9 Olympians who made India proud

India first participated at the Olympic games in 1900, with a lone athlete (Norman Pritchard) winning two medals- both silver- in athletics. The nation first sent a team to the Summer Olympic Games in 1920, and has participated in every Summer Games since then. India has also competed at several Winter Olympic Games beginning in 1964.
1. Dhyan Chand (Field Hockey)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPEY
Popularly known as “The Wizard”, Dhyan Chand was arguably the greatest player the sport of field
hockey. He is best remembered for his three-peat of gold medals at the Olympics in 1928, 1932 and
2. Abhinav Bindra (Shooting)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFa
Abhinav Bindra delivered the one result India had awaited not for decades, but for nearly a century. Bindra won the gold in Men’s 10m Air Rifle at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, becoming the first Indian to win the yellow metal in an individual event.
3. Mary Kom (Boxer)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFf
She is the only Indian woman boxer to have qualified for the 2012 Summer Olympics, competing in the flyweight (51 kg) category and winning the bronze medal.
4. Sushil Kumar (Wrestling)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFn
During the 2012 London Olympics, Sushil Kumar achieved something no Indian achieved in the past. After his bronze medal exploits in 2008 Beijing Olympics, he went a step further and clinched the silver medal in wrestling for India, becoming the first and the only Indian to win two individual medals in the Olympics.
5. Karnam Malleswari (Weightlifter)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFp
Karnam Malleswari is an Indian weightlifter. During her ten years career, she has won 11 gold and three silver medals besides the prestigious Olympic bronze.
6. Gagan Narang ( Air rifle shooting)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFt
Gagan Narang is an Indian shooter, in Air rifle shooting, supported by the Olympic Gold Quest. He was the first Indian to qualify for the London Olympics won the Bronze Medal in the Men’s 10 m Air Rifle Event at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London on 30 July 2012.
7. Saina Nehwal (Badminton)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFx
Saina Nehwal is the first Indian to win a medal in Badminton at the Olympics. She achieved this feat by winning the Bronze medal at the London Olympics 2012 on 4 August 2012.
8. Colonel Rajyavardhan Rathore (Shooter)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFD
He won the silver medal in Men’s Double Trap at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens. Rathore’s silver was India’s best individual Olympic performance post Indian Independence.
9. Vijender Singh (Boxer)

Image Source: http://bit.do/enPFN
At the 2008 Beijing Summer Olympics he won the bronze medal. This was the first ever Olympic medal for an Indian boxer. It was a very proud moment for India when he had won a bronze in the Beijing Summer Olympics 2008 and also a great moment for Vijender Singh.

India wants to increase access to sport for all and provide everyone, in particular young people, with the educational and health values of sport, so we have more Olympians in the future.